Home > Getting missional > one of my deepest reflections as of late… a thanksgiving thought

one of my deepest reflections as of late… a thanksgiving thought

I look up at the night sky and see the moon’s light beaming down on the earth.   I am thankful tonight for all I have been given; a family, a home, a vehicle, clothes to wear, plenty of food…  Yet under this same moon I am aware of those who have not.

 

Under the same moon, in our land of plenty we struggle with dissatisfaction.  Others struggle with not having anything to satisfy their thirst or hunger.

 

Under the same moon, we try to guide our children away from entitlement, while other children would be thrilled to have one toy alone.

 

Under the same moon, we work overtime just so we can have the newest car, i-gadget, holiday, status, that we are often isolated from others, even our own family.  Yet there are others orphaned by the tyranny of aids, war and poverty who would do anything just to have a family.

 

Under the same moon I have a home, while others have no home.  I complain about driving a mini van and not a mustang, while others endure the winter on foot.   While I moan; “I’m broke” and head to Starbucks, there are those who truly have lost everything.

 

Under the same moon, there is enough money and resources for all to live well, but some hoard while others suffer.

 

I’ve become aware that although suffering is not my personal fault, I am responsible for my neighbor who has the same right to live under the same moon as I.

 

There must be more to a self indulgent life that never becomes satisfied.   I need to find those who live in lack.  Under the same moon they are there.  Will I care enough to look for them?  Will I share what I feel entitled to with them?

 

Can I truly feast while they famine?

 

“We all live under the same sky, but we don’t all have the same horizon.” – Konrad Adenauer

 

To whom much is given, much is required. – Jesus (Luke 12:48)

Categories: Getting missional
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

