Home > Getting missional > I never thought I could….

I never thought I could….

I had many thoughts when I ran the 10K race on the weekend.  So many things that spoke to my heart.  Here’s one that gave me a good laugh… and a good “think”.

At about the 7 kilometre mark, there was a girl with a sign that said; “This parade sucks”.  I got a good chuckle out of that which took my mind off the grueling pain I was feeling for a moment….. then that moment ended and it was back to the 45 minute  push-through-the-pain-mark I always get on a run.

 

As witty as it was, I thought about what it would be like to wait for the ONE family member to pass by.  It could seem pretty long seeing the same scene pass by over and over.  “Oh look!  Another runner!”  I’m sure we were all starting to blend in the eyes of the sidelines.

 

But seriously, how boring to be on the sidelines of a race.   I guess if you had some fun people to hang with it could be do-able, but if I had a choice, I’d certainly choose to run rather than watch.

 

Yet, there was a day not so long ago I thought I could NEVER run a 10K, let alone 2K!   I was the chubby girl all my life and the slowest runner in school.  I guess I let that continue to define me even after losing my weight.   I remember in school the fastest runner in my class asked me to race him across the field.  He thought it would be fun to completely humiliate me.  If you know me, you know exactly how I responded; with a big “BRING IT” – even though I knew how ridiculous it was.  I was somehow oblivious to the humiliation I was about to experience… wish I still had that innocence…

 

We started our “race” with him shooting off leaving me in the dust.   All of a sudden, my friend called out; “Connie!  There’s a wasp on you!!”   I was petrified of wasps so off I bolted catching up to my opponent faster than anyone expected.  I had caught up and came in a very close second, much to his (and my) surprise.

 

Perhaps I had it in me?   Maybe all I need is a wasp?…

 

At 30 I trained hard for my first 10K, determined to strip the limitation off of myself.  I became pregnant deterring me from my goal of running the whole race.  With a slight disappointment,  I walked it instead.   A few years later, I would run my first 10K, and it wouldn’t be the last.

 

I wonder what would have happened if I would have stayed on the sidelines?  I would have never known I COULD indeed run a 10K.

 

I wonder how many on the sidelines of the race watch with desire to run as well, but don’t feel they can?

 

What are you watching from the sidelines, wishing you could get involved with?

 

Maybe a 10K is not on your radar, but something is.   Aren’t you tired of watching from the sidelines?   Doesn’t that parade suck?   Why not give it a go?!

 

You’ll never know till you try…..

Categories: Getting missional
  1. Charlene
    September 27, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Beautiful & encouraging as always!! Love you Connie!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

