Home > relationships > My “real” facebook – behind the facade

My “real” facebook – behind the facade

Nice picture right?  Our family looks so happy and full of laugher.   What you didn’t see is the complete breakdown in between pictures.   Our most amazing photographer, Kristy-Anne Swart asking our son Ben questions in such a patient manner, only to get the grumpiest responses back.   Daddy resorted to tickling in efforts to get a smile, me using the “threats under my breath” method as I would smile nice for the camera.

 

You didn’t see that.  You see the happy shots Kristy-Anne was able to capture between the chaos.   That is such a reflection of my “facebook life” as well.

 

You don’t see pictures of me when I first wake up in the morning (thank goodness), or what I USUALLY look like at home (hair up, sweats, big shirt).  You don’t see pictures of the heated arguments my hubby and I have, or the times I lost it with my kids and we all end in tears.

 

You may see a ton of friends in my contacts, but only a handful are my kindreds, and I have walked many lonely roads.

 

You see all the exciting projects, parties and family outings, but you don’t see the “day-in, day-out same old” that is more regular than the excitement.

 

You may wonder how I have all the time in the world to read, workout, dance, spend time with family etc when really, it’s all hit and miss…. many times leaning towards “miss”.

 

I know many gals who have confessed that facebook has made them feel lonely, isolated and “boring”.   More than a handful have said when they’ve been off facebook they have felt so free to live the life that’s put before them.  “Ignorance of others is bliss”, one said.

 

I’m not slamming facebook.  For me, it’s a powerful networking tool.  But there are times when maybe a “facebook fast” is called for.   It’s a bubble-world of everyone’s perfection laid out for all to see, leaving the viewer sometimes to ask; “What’s wrong with ME???”

 

Can I speak right to you: There’s NOTHING wrong with you.   Live the path that God has put before you.  I want to see all your life-highlights on facebook and celebrate with you!

 

I think the key is to be SECURE and allow that security to help guard your heart from comparison.  Comparison is an awful poison that brings all kinds of evil into our hearts.

 

Maybe one day, we should post our worst picture and our biggest mistake of the day….. that would be fun.  But in the meantime, be free friend.  Your life has been scripted by the Creator of the universe.   There’s nothing dull about that.  DAYS may seem like mundane routine, but looking back on seasons and months, you’d be amazed at all that God has done in and through you.

 

Categories: relationships
  1. Sherilyn
    June 15, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Connie, your blogs mean a lot to me. Thanks for your honesty 😉

  2. June 15, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    LOVE!!!!!

  3. Charlene Z
    June 15, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    AMEN & AMEN!!!!

  4. Nicole (Char's friend)
    June 15, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Couldn’t agree more. Thanks for this reminder!

  5. Maria
    June 16, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    very authentic…lots of courage in your post….Love ya! I can see the stress of the pictures in your eyes— only because I have it in mine too….LOL…but most people don’t look so deep

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

