Home > Getting missional > A Week In Their Kitchen: conclusion

A Week In Their Kitchen: conclusion

Last night I went to the grocery store to shop for this week’s groceries for the family.   Wow, what a mixed bag of emotions journeying through the store picking all my favorites: watermelon, broccoli, hummus, carrots, bananas, avocado….   But each item I put in the cart was done with a load more thankfulness than I’ve had in awhile.  I’ve never been so happy to see broccoli!

However, when the cashier spilled the grand total of $89, I was taken back (even though it hasn’t been THAT long since I’ve bought groceries).   I barely bought a thing other than some fruit, veggies etc and it was THAT MUCH??   It’s very expensive to eat healthy, let alone EAT!  And I shop pretty frugal!  At Superstore!

It again opened my eyes to those who work, yet still can’t afford food (and sometimes even rent!)  We almost break the bank trying to eat well!  It’s cruel to think a working person can’t afford food.  And honestly, I really get passionate about people not being able to afford healthy, wholesome foods.

This week has challenged more than I imagined it would.  It was hard to be limited to what was given.  It was difficult to give up going out for coffee with friends.  It was taxing adjusting to a different diet.  It was tough to be creative with meals.

But I wouldn’t trade this experience.  As hard as it has been, it has also brought an awareness I would have never had.  Even though I still feel I don’t know half of what people go through, I feel empathy has rooted itself more in my heart.

This experience has made me want to be more aware of those in need around me.  It has created a desire to do what I can to help.   I don’t want to go back to life-as-usual and forget those who’s kitchen I’ve just been in.   I see through a different set of eyes now.  Eyes that are more open and compassionate.

My family shares the hardship and enlightenment the experience has given.  My son is much more thankful for his food.  To my delight, hubby has been reminded of why he LIKES eating chicken and veggies!  He, too, feels more for those who go without.

There is so much we can do.  Those who have been blessed, can bless others.  What a waste to just live for myself.  I’m up for some new adventures of seeing what needs exist in our community, and  how our family can reach out beyond ourselves to help.

Thank you so much to the food bank for the difference you make.

Categories: Getting missional
  1. June 6, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Connie.

    Thank you very much for your Blog. I have been reading it off and on for a while. I must say that your recent experience with the food bank has had me thinking quite a bit. How much do I as a leader in my home taken food for granted? Are we eating the right things? Do we appreciate what God has given us? Are we blessing others with what God has given us? Hard questions to ask oneself. It is nice to have a little window into your familie’s life and perspective on such things.

    Keep up the blog, it has been an encouragement and thought provoker for My household.

    Jed Butters

  2. Maria
    June 8, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    Good job Connie and thank you for sharing your experience

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

