Home > a broken journey > The dare that moved me

The dare that moved me

Seven years ago I found myself running on the treadmill feeling completely…. numb.   I ran one hour a day and felt…. nothing.  I  just ran and ran.   My ipod playlist was nothing to be proud of.  I was done.  Done with God.  Done with church.  Done with dreaming.   Done with hope.  Just… done.   The only thing I could do each day was get out of my place, into the gym and onto the treadmill.

It was a month after my dad passed and the same time when my world from under me suddenly fell.   I was in a dark place.   In one of the darkest moments in  my mind-wanderings, a song played on my ipod that surprised me.   It sounded different than my normal playlist for my runs.  This one sang:

I dare you to move.  Dare you to pick yourself up off the floor.   Dare you to move like today never happened.

There I was on the treadmill amidst the all the testosterone in the gym, wanting to break down.   God was speaking into my heart His acceptance, His grace.   He was offering to take my hand.

But I couldn’t take His hand.  I thought He was through with me.  Didn’t my dad’s death happen because God was angry with me?  Didn’t my world crumble because of His disappointment in me?  Then these lines in the song sang: “Maybe redemption has stories to tell.  Maybe forgiveness is right where you fell.  Where do you run to escape from yourself?  Where you gonna go?…. salvation is  here”.

That did it.  I had to get out of that gym as quick as possible.  With tears streaming down my cheeks, I ran to my car, got in and cried like I hadn’t cried in years.   I couldn’t.   I mean I COULD NOT possibly believe that God could take my horrid brokenness and turn it into His redemptive story.  I wanted to believe that forgiveness was there to visit me on the ground, but it was too good to believe.   Where would I run?  I didn’t know.  But it wasn’t into God’s arms, that’s for sure.

Seven years have passed and redemption has visited my life.   I’m up off the floor.  I dared to move, even though it took not a few months, but a couple of years to move what seems like only a few feet.  That song by Switchfoot, “Dare you to move”, continues to move my inner spirit in ways I wish I could write.

But now when I listen to this song, it’s a prayer.  Not a prayer for me, but for you if you are finding yourself in a similar place.

Today, I dare you to:

move

pick yourself up

sing redemptions song again

embrace the forgiveness that is extended freely to you

run into Gods arms rather than away from Him

believe

have faith

grow

wake up

dream again

to be revolutionary

become the warrior you are

make culture rather than follow it (and I’m not talking about yogurt….)

be an answer

rebel against what’s normal

love yourself

love your neighbor

see yourself through God’s eyes

I dare you to move.

Categories: a broken journey
  1. June 21, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Words I needed to hear today. Thank you. “I’m done” just keeps running through my head like a broken record, but I know that’s not God’s plan in all of this.

    • June 21, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      My prayers are with you today. For courage to do what you feel you can’t. God in you will give you the strength. I dare you to move. Just when you think you’re done, God surprises us. Days may take forever, but in retrospect you’ll soon be looking back. I don’t want to give you all the cliche sayings that drove me nuts in my time. Most of all I just want to say; you CAN do it and I’m praying and willing to be whatever support I can for you!

    • jkmadg
      July 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      Thank you ..you are a blessing dear friend.

  1. July 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Leave a Reply

