Home > womanly stuff > Royal wedding thoughts

Royal wedding thoughts

I may be the only female on the planet who didn’t watch the Royal Wedding.  It was just too early.   But I remember watching the Royal Wedding of Charles and Diana when I was 6 years old.  As a little girl, I was in awe of this fairy tale come true for commoner marrying her prince.   To me as a young girl, she left the disney princesses in the dust.  She was real.    Years later, I still love looking at those wedding pictures.

Before you think of me as a wedding humbug, I DID look up pictures of the recent wedding.   I mean, isn’t that what we’re all looking for anyways?   We’re not so interested in the long ceremony as much as we are seeing THE DRESS!

I enjoyed hearing the various responses of “the dress” afterwards.   I happened to be at a youth gathering that evening and got to hear their opinion.  The common response was; “Loved her, but the dress was so…. old fashioned”.  Some didn’t mind the dress but didn’t like the lace.   I must say I agree, but only because my grad dress had similar lace, and I’ve wished I could “redeem” my grad look for years now!

There are expectations on royalty.   There are guidelines on how a princess dresses.  She’s no ordinary girl, she’s royalty.  You won’t see “Pussy Cat Doll” influence in her wardrobe.   Mixing fashion, modesty, and yes some tradition, Kate holds her head with dignity, and girls all over the world love her.

She’s beautiful… without exposing her body.  She’s lovely….. without seduction.  She didn’t have to hike up her skirt or lower her neckline to be adored.   Walking in elegance, Kate has shown the world that “hot” doesn’t have to be smutty.

When you’re royalty, you live like one…. you act like one….. you carry yourself different.  You are a princess!

Well guess what girls?  YOU are a princess.  You are the daughter of the King of the earth.   The King of all kings!  The creator of the universe.  You are HIS own.   Imagine we lived it?  Picture how we would carry ourselves if we believed this? How would this change the way you see yourself?  The way you dress?  Your speech?  Your life?

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity. (1 Timothy 4:12)

This verse is for everyone, because you will always be younger than someone.  As daughters of the King, we have a mandate to set an example to all.   We are to have influence through the way we speak, how we live our lives, through the demonstration of our faith; doing all this by walking in purity.  Girls need a good example of what purity looks like. They need to see the difference between common and royalty.

Will you carry the influence God created you for?  Will you LIVE the difference?  Will you even, do I dare say, rebel against culture and create a new culture of what beauty and dignity look like?

Will you BE the royalty you were created for?

Categories: womanly stuff
  1. Wendy
    May 2, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Great post! (and we did our wedding party post wedding – the evening). I agree, I think things that are more impressive are fashion with modesty. Frankly, dressing sluttily only degrades oneself. (in my opinion).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

