Home > womanly stuff > Skinny jean faith

Skinny jean faith

Scene: Driving the van, tears down my cheeks crying out to God, begging Him to come through.  Too much was on the line.   Too much was at stake.   I had taken a risk; jumping from the comfortable to the unknown, and in the natural, it wasn’t looking like a nice landing.   After taking the risk with no turning back, there I was….. vulnerable, cut open…. with no control of the outcome…

 

Have you ever been in a familiar scene?

 

 

If you have, you know that being in this situation is like putting on skinny jeans for the first time (or after they’ve been washed….).  At first, its a real ss-tt-rr-ee-tt-ccch to get them on.   But once they get on, they  stretch, and conform to our body.   Throughout the day, they get easier to wear and actually start to become comfortable!

 

If you’ve ever put on a pair of skinny jeans, you know getting them on initially is all about strategy.  Whatever it takes – just get em on; laying on the ground using a hanger through the zipper to pull up, the famous “s-u-c-k in technique, and I don’t know why, but I find standing on my toes gives me gumption to get them zipped!

 

But here’s the thing: once you’ve done all you can to get them on, you have to trust that they’re gonna stay on.   I know what you’re thinking: they’re SKINNY JEANS.  They’re NOT gonna fall off!

 

That’s reflects how ridiculous my head-space was in the van that evening.   I doubted whether God was going to come through.  Even the next day I found myself in tears many times over, constantly wondering whether He was going to let me fall.  But just like those skinnies, God CAN’T be unfaithful when we’ve done our part.  It goes against who He is.

 

So there I was, shriveling in fear and self-doubt….. only to find that, He TOTALLY came through for me.   I was elated!  I cried out; “I KNEW you’d come through!”

 

Ahem…. can we just rewind to the scene of me in the van…. doubting, worried, fearful….. I reflected on this after those words left my mouth.  I laughed to myself and said bashfully in response: “Ok…. so I wasn’t EXACTLY sure”…..

 

But isn’t it funny that I’ve seen God come through for me time after time after time, and yet I STILL doubt?   In fact, I don’t think God has ever left me out to dry.  If there’s been anyone unfaithful…. it’s been me.

 

I have been reminded again that God’s faithfulness sticks…. and never fails

 

It’s time to bring out “skinny jean” faith in our lives.

 

If you haven’t taken any risks lately, like stepping out in “skinny jean faith”, perhaps it’s been too long since you took a much-needed risk?  Maybe it’s time to think about stepping out again?  As much as I dislike these moments, these are the defining moments in our lives that give us significance and keep us from the hum-drum of the ordinary.

 

And like a pair of skinny jeans that don’t fall off, God won’t let you down.

 

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track. (Proverbs 3:5)

 

When you feel small you act big … – Christine Caine

 

Categories: womanly stuff
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

