Home > The Bully Project > to the one who was bullied today…

to the one who was bullied today…

Dear one who was bullied today,

I’m writing to you to ask you to make it one more day.   To have the guts to get out of bed in the morning.  To be able to dodge the words that aim to cut your heart and still believe in the beauty inside you.  To not hide your devastation for one more day but to find support in people who are willing to help and love you.  I’m writing you to ask you to dream again…. to hope again.  To push through and find the other side.


I’m asking you to do this because there is life on the other side.   If you could last just a little longer, I promise, you’ll make it through.  You’ll come out stronger.  I just ask that you don’t become what is being thrown on you.  Don’t allow the hurt in you to, in turn, hurt others.   Somewhere, find it in yourself to move beyond and one day, even forgive.  Be the bigger man.   Do the right thing despite.   You will shine.


I want to ask something of you that may be the hardest thing you’ve ever done.   I want you to hold your head up high.  Keep it up as you walk to your school.   Face the day with courage and bravery.   Find your image in the One who made you in His.   Believe that there’s nothing wrong with you.  Stand firm in the truth that who you are and what you bring to our world is needed.


I know you can do it.


This weekend, some friends of mine and I will be performing a show we wrote for you.   We will be sharing our stories of how, we too, have experienced bullying and how we overcame.  We do this to encourage you that YOU can overcome.  That deep inside of you, there lies a heart of a champion.


This weekend, we dance for you.  We dance with all our might for all the times  you cried in hopelessness.  For all the times suicide crossed your mind.  For the times it felt like you didn’t have a friend in the world.   For the times when no one stood up for you.   We dance for you….. because we believe in you.


Enough’s enough.  It’s time for things to be different for you.  It’s time for change. It’s time for the hero in you to rise again.

 

Categories: The Bully Project
  1. Michelle
    April 1, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Connie, Your letter today brought up the feelings of the girl I was when I was afraid to go to school because of the people waiting for me.I was the fat girl in class and a certain bully made sure i knew it daily. The constant teasing and isolation made me have thoughts of not wanting to continue this gift of life that was given me. I am conforted to know I had the chance later in high school to show this bully compassion and I hope he learned you dont have to bully people to get the attention he so craved. I have and always will stand up for the little guy, and have done so without thoughts of how I could get hurt(as my husband has told me)I have thought that if you stand by and watch a child get beat down by fists or words you may as well be doing it yourself.Stand UP people, be active in the solution .Connie, I just want say thank you for being a champion of the weak. With your caring heart and inspiring words you will help these kids see that tomorow is another day and there are people that care. Thank you for your Letter.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

