Home > a new spirituality > How big is your but?

How big is your but?

I saw this tweet yesterday: “Excuses: Yes BUT…. we all have buts!  I can’t see mine but easily see yours!  I always think yours is bigger than mine!” – Rick Warren

So true.  Well…. not me looking at your but….. but me seeing your excuses and thinking I know how you can overcome your but.  Its not always clear for me to see that my but may actually be bigger than yours….

We all have things that we dream about when alone.   Things we’d do, IF….  Can I just interrupt that “if” and let you know that “if” is still going to be there the next time you revisit something you’re dying to do.  I read this other amazing quote on a status on Facebook the other day:  “A year from now, you’ll wish you would have”.

I just finished reading the book “The Cause Within You” by Matthew Barnett.   The first thing I saw on the side flap in the book before I even started reading it was this statement: “Nearly half of all adults say they are still seeking the meaning and ultimate purpose of their lives.  Are you one of them?”   After reading that, my heart screamed out; “YES!  I’m one of them!!”

Did you scream out “YES!” to that too?  What would you do if nothing limited you?  What’s your “but” look like in regards to stepping out towards it?

I’ll tell you what my but looks like.  It’s big.  A great, big BUT:

BUT I’m sick of hearing about stepping out and dreaming – especially in a time in my life when I feel my time and energy is limited.

BUT what if I fail, waste my time, others time and even my own personal money

BUT what if I need to give up work and income to do it?

BUT what if no one supports me?

Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ.

Wake up from your sleep,
Climb out of your coffins;
Christ will show you the light!
So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get. These are desperate times!

Don’t live carelessly, unthinkingly. Make sure you understand what the Master wants. (Ephesians 5:16-17)

Another version says “make the most of every opportunity”.  This isn’t just speaking to the “special” or “talented” – this is for all of us!  No matter what phase of life.

Every day we’re faced with opportunities.  Don’t fall into the thinking that these opportunities have to be BIG in order to be worth attention.  I’m finding more and more that the opportunities that pass by us each day look simple.  But if we take a minute to engage in them, it has big impact!

I made a radical statement to God this week in regards to my but.  ENOUGH of my but – I’m choosing to trust and step out regardless.  As quickly as my statement left my lips I almost wished I could take it back.   There comes a time when we need to ignore the size of our but and make steps anyways.

It’s time to get radical and lose the but.  It’s time to get that but toned down.  Make the most of every opportunity.

Three out of four adults say they want to make a difference in the world, but they look at it as something they hope to do in the future.

Well friends, the future is NOW.  It’s time to actually MAKE the difference.  Why not spend some time chatting with God about what that looks like for you?

I dare you

Categories: a new spirituality
  1. Christine
    March 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

    I was struck by the song line “surely life wasn’t made to regret” yesterday. If I DON’T do this (next thing)….I will regret it…

  1. August 24, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

