Home > womanly stuff > I used to be pretty

I used to be pretty

Ever think that?   I’m finding a lot of moms echo the same statement.

 

Just the other week I was looking through photos of me in my late 20’s.  I couldn’t help but think, “Wow!  I was so…. thin!”    I can’t believe that back then I thought I was chubby.  I started scrutinizing myself then compared to now.  Well that’s just not fair.  Back then I was kid-less and in my 20’s!  We’re talking pre-grey hairs, pre-aftermath baby flubber, pre….   Now I know its time to hit the hair salon when my bunch, not just a few, a BUNCH, of grey hairs show up (they’ve migrated to my eyebrows too.  Who gets grey in their EYEBROWS??)   Now, instead of looking for my skinny’s I’m looking for my spanks….

 

Many mourn the weight they were back in their teens.   There’s where I can find some comfort.  I was very heavy as a teen.  I actually weigh less post-2nd baby, so I can’t empathize with those gals.  But I understand mourning past weight from before baby.  I have all these awesome clothes that I can’t fit into.  For now, I’m stuck with my 2 outfits that actually fit…  And God-forbid, the other day I checked myself in a 3 way mirror.  IS MY BUTT REALLY THAT BIG??

 

I saw this status on facebook today and almost fell over laughing: I figured out why I’m fat! The shampoo I use in the shower that runs down my body says “For extra volume and body”. I’m going to start using “Dawn” dish soap. It says ” Dissolves fat that is otherwise difficult to remove”

 

I got the answer, gals!  It’s time for a makeover!   Let’s head to the mall and get ourselves an age-defying spa experience so we can look like Jennifer Lopez (who makes me SICK!  That woman can’t be 42!)  Then we’ll hook ourselves up with a new wardrobe, and we’ll leave the mall feeling like rock stars….. until we see the visa bill….. until our HUSBANDS see the visa bill….. until a day later when we’re back to that ol’ frumpy feeling…..

 

What?  Wouldn’t a visit to the spa and some new clothes make us feel like new?  For a moment, but it soon fades.   It seems like it would be just what the doctor ordered, but it never satisfies.

 

I think there comes a time when we need to embrace ourselves beyond our expectations and comparisons.   We expect so much from ourselves, yet if you ask me who I know who I find truly breathtakingly beautiful, the first people I think of aren’t necessarily who Vogue would choose for a front cover.   They don’t even feel all that “hot”, yet when I see their radiance, they are so…. beautiful.

 

It sounds cheesy and like it’s the right thing to say, but its true isn’t it?  Think about those you know you find “beautiful”.    There are girls who may be hot by the world’s standards, but that perfect outer appearance can get mangled by a really self-centered personality.  All of a sudden, they’re not as beautiful as first envisioned.

 

I’m not saying we just let ourselves go.  I think healthy eating (not like the whole pan of brownies I just ate…) and some exercise is something we all need.   First of all, it makes us feel a ton better about ourselves.  I can be 10 pounds heavier than I’d like, but when I’m eating well and exercising, I feel good despite!  And honestly, I think some reading this blog need to invest a little in yourself with a new shirt or a facial.  Moms always take care of themselves last.   Don’t you think that could be feeding how frumpy you’re feeling??  (nod your head..)

 

Let’s get to the main thing: beauty in its purest form is cultivated by an active attention to the heart.   This is where all beauty flows out of.  You can have buck teeth and still radiate if you’re heart has been well-tended to.  I know it sounds cliche, but time and time again, I’ve seen it before my very eyes.   Outward beauty fades.  The make up comes off and OMG WHO IS THAT??….. but the heart doesn’t need cover-up, if it’s given the proper attention.

 

Don’t be deceived, all the things media shoves at us blurs our eyes to the foundation of grandeur.

 

Keep vigilant watch over your heart;
that’s where life starts. (Proverbs 4:23)

 

So, lets examine our heart condition as thorough as we examine our body.  How’s it lookin’?

Categories: womanly stuff
  1. Wendy Nilsen
    March 3, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Thanks Con! Great post to start my “frumpy” day with!

  2. March 3, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I like it. You write some great posts.

  3. March 3, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Had to chuckle at your heading, because if you used to be pretty back then — where does that leave me Dad? – Just had a dream and in it I was running a race, like cross country — They even gave me a giant head start like one full lap ahead of everybody else – but I was out of shape and tried my best — but soon some youngsters like children were catching up and — the only consolation was that by the end of the race (Not even sure if I was able to finish it properly)but during the race – I had actually lost 10 pounds– that was cool! But pretty and handsome — like Mark Lowry was saying re: him and Bill Gaither – the women are pretty but for us old timers (men) usually it’s ugly from the get go. Be blessed — we find beauty in Jesus, just like people try to find rest in the Sabbath Day – Wrong — The Spirit of Rest and Pease all comes through the Holy Spirit: Him abiding in us and us in Him. Everything we look for in this life – the beauty of it all we find in Christ, and this is just the beginning. love and blessings – Dad.

  4. Maria
    March 5, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    I was thinking about this the other day after watching a show about the brain. The theory is that the better a person looks on the outside the healthier their brain and heart are because it takes a lot of brain activity and heart to look after ones self. In turn, if you look cared for on the outside then humans naturally attract to that kind of person knowing that they are healthy. It is a sort of beacon that sends it’s rays of light out to others. Hmmm…so I can easily choose to be a slob which might reflect that my brain might be depressed and too sluggish to really take care of me or I can take some time to look after my heart, my brain and my whole self and keep my health high so that my light can radiate and in turn attract people to my life. It really is just a decision that begins with my will and struggle to protect those neurons and grow them and to open my heart more fully to the people who will find me contagious. Connie, you have done a good job in this arena – good heart, good brain!!!

  1. July 13, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

