Home > a new spirituality > The wedding dancer

The wedding dancer

Eleven years ago, Reuben and I got married.  When I was single, I would dream of the first dance at my wedding.   When time for my “first dance” came, we danced to Glen Miller’s, “In The Mood”.   The whole time Reuben asked me, “Can we stop now?”……. geesh.

Reuben’s just not a dancer (even though he busts a move at home).  Recently we were at a wedding where we knew there would be a dance.  I, of course, was thrilled!  Reuben was dreading it.   He claimed he didn’t know enough moves.

The day of the wedding came and Reuben got dragged onto the dance floor by some of our friends.   He at least had other “non-dancers” surrounding him.   Well bust my buttons, I discovered the guy can groove!  He even did a move I couldn’t copy!  The best part is: he had a BLAST!   He was Mr. Perma-Grin the whole night.  He won’t admit it, but I think he really likes dancing!

It’s refreshing to get out and just let loose.   To have …… what’s that word again?…. oh yes: FUN!   There are so many things in life that need responsible thinking and focus.   As a mom, I find the word “no” comes out of my mouth so much that I think its left a permanent “lemon-juice” expression on my lips.   Some days I feel like I have to remind myself to smile!   I have to discipline myself to stop for a minute and enjoy the moment with my boys – just to laugh with them.

Life gets busy, jobs are stressful, bills need to be paid, schedules dictate, anxiety takes over, and sooner than later we become too serious.   Too over-analytical.  Too critical.   Too….. mono-tone.

A joyful heart is good medicine, But a broken spirit dries up the bones. (Proverbs 17:22)

Or as the Message Bible states:

A cheerful disposition is good for your health; gloom and doom leave you bone-tired.

Isn’t that the truth?!   I find a good laugh is therapeutic to my soul.  Just recently I had a great laugh over coffee with some friends.  I came in restless, stressed and discouraged.  I left refreshed and replenished.

So, this weekend how about some homework?  Don’t worry, this is FUN homework!

  • find an excuse to laugh
  • do something that you find fun – just because, no special reason
  • take some quality time with your family to remind yourself why you love them so much
  • take a break from things that have been weighing you down this week
  • see how much you can smile
  • watch a funny movie (I recently just watched “Despicable Me”.  So funny!…. well to me it was)
  • make someone else laugh

You never know what “fun” awaits you when you are willing to step out and see it….

Categories: a new spirituality
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

