Home > a new spirituality > When I move you move, just like that

When I move you move, just like that

Today’s blog has potential to offend.  Its pretty candid and could spark a ton of opinions.  Where do I start….

I know, I’ll start here:

Dancers are interpreters.  Just like if you were in a different country and had an interpreter with you so you could understand the language –  that’s what a dancer does to a piece of music: it’s style and emotion. That way the audience understands its meaning – or at least the choreographer’s interpretation of the meaning.

Can’t get away from this, its just the way it is…. at least for me.  When music comes on I groove to the feel.  If it’s smooth, I move smooth.  If its sharp, my movements are jagged.   If its sassy then so am I.   They lyrics influence my movement as well.

As a hip hop dancer you can imagine how hard it is to find songs with suitable lyrics for my core beliefs…  yikes.   Even just last night I thought I picked a great song with a cool vibe for my class, but as the song went on and I heard the lyrics…. yikes.   I can’t help but hear lyrics.  I have to hear them.  They tell me what to do when I move.   If lyrics tell me “Jump Around” – I will.   If they tell me to do the “Humpty Dance” – I will.   If they tell me to “Smack that…” well I may just do that….

So there I was dancing to some pretty suggestive words that I would never allow to be played in front of my four year old.   I wondered to myself: why would I not allow Ben, my four year old, to listen to it, yet I can?  When do we “graduate” to be able to listen to certain lyrics?   Do the lyrics really matter anyways?   What if we just like the beat?  Why make such a big deal about it?

Here’s where this blog could be offensive to you.  I don’t mean to be offensive, it’s my personal values.  I’m not asking you to agree with me.  I’m asking you to think about what you are going to believe…

Just like music style and lyrics move a dancer, whether we are aware of it or not, the essence of music moves a generation.  Don’t think so?

influenced this:                                 

influenced this:                                 

unfortunately influenced this:   

influenced this:                                      

has influenced this                               : 

has influenced this:  

hmmmm…..  music not influential eh?

I know, I know.  Stop being such a “stick-in-the-mud” right?  But if music has this much influence, this much power to literally be able to SHAPE ethics, beliefs, movements, attitudes and sometimes awful hair styles…. that’s a lot of impact!  What can it do to you?  To me?  Without even knowing it….

Why?  Why all the fuss?  Why even think about it?

Because I believe very strongly what this verse says:

Watch over your heart with all diligence for from it flows the springs of life (Proverbs 4:23)

Our heart: the center of our very being.  The core of who we are – not the vital organ that pumps blood.  We are to watch over it – with all diligence.  We are to guard and protect it.   Why?  Because out of the center of our being is where our “life starts”, as the Message Bible states.   From our heart, our core, flows how we behave,  how we think, our attitude, our actions, our motivations.   Everything about us and how we go about our lives starts there.

Imagine what could happen if music could get into our “hearts”, good or bad, and effect the very way we live our lives?  That CAN make a generation its puppet.

So what I’m NOT saying is that all music is baaaaadddd.   When it comes to music, God’s not saying “Thou shalt not listen to ….. (fill in the blank). What He IS  saying is: guard your heart.  Don’t compromise it for a beat.   Don’t brush off how important it is just because everyone else loves that song.

This goes for any age: preschool all the way to adult.  Music effects us all.   From young kids listening to Lil Wayne singing a song that says b**tch a dozen times, teens listening to Katie Perry going from kissing a girl and liking it, to having no regrets going all the way.   From guys learning from 50 Cent how to treat a lady, to the single, young adult girl learning from the Pussy Cat Dolls how to dance in a club – and end up being treated as such.

And don’t think us married folk aren’t included.  How many women do I actually know of who have no problem flirting with someone who’s not their man.  What’s worse, adultery has become tolerated and even encouraged.   Lyrics like:

“ladies leave your man at home, the club is full of ballas and their pockets full grown.  And all you fellas leave your girl with her friends.  Cuz it’s 11:30 and the club is jumpin, jumpin.  Ya you say you got a girl, yes she says she got a man.  But the party ain’t gonna stop so lets make it hot hot”.

We glamorize this kind of lifestyle through smooth lyrics and sick beats.

Now remember I said you don’t have to agree with me….

The question IS:  what are you going to let into your heart?  What is going to influence the way YOU live?

 

Categories: a new spirituality
  1. Miranda Himmelspeck
    January 26, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Hear, Hear Connie. The same holds true with television and movies. Our eyes and ears are not garbage cans, and yet we fill them with garbage all the time. Even if we say we don’t listen to the lyrics, our spirits absorb them.

    Today’s music pushes the envelope even more than it ever has before. The really sad thing is that the kid pop people (little kids singing todays hits) are singing these same suggestive songs. It sounds even more sick when a little kids voice is singing the lyrics.

  2. Belinda
    January 27, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Amen! I think sometimes we have lost our ability to blush…to turn away from something too provocative, to cover our eyes and plug our ears…and hey, even hit the off button or leave!

    I think I need to read Phil 4v8 every day!

    Some words are floating around in my head from a Brian Doerkson song…
    “My soul is yearning for Your living stream, my heart is aching for You. All that I long for is found in Your heart. You are everything I need.

    You are the thirst, You are the stream, You are the hunger living deep inside of me. You are the food that satisfies, You are provision for the journey of our lives. You are everything… You are.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

