Home > womanly stuff > Get up offa that thing!

Get up offa that thing!

I have a secret…..

Everything I do I’m petrified of doing.  Seriously.   Even things I’m pretty good at doing, I’m constantly second guessing myself and doing my secret “toe wiggle” while I’m in the action.   I’ve had many compliments of how confident I am.  Wow, am I ever good at faking it then!  I guess the difference between me and some is:

I just do it anyways…

I was so scared to take my first hip hop class.   I was overweight and everyone in the room had taken dance before.   Thank God I did it because that’s now what I do for a living and despite the fact that I’m not the BEST at it,

I do it anyways…

My first 10K run I was so nervous!   In school I was no athlete.  I was the last to be picked for every team in gym and I was the slowest runner.   But I had it in my mind to do a 10K.   Now I want to do a half marathon.  When I get scared of that,

I’ll just do it anyways…

I was scared spit-less for my first triathlon.  I had no formal swimming lessons as a kid and when I decided to sign up for my first race, I learned how to do the front crawl from a friend explaining it to me in passing.   I’ve completed a handful of triathlons up to this date and didn’t drown.

I’m glad I did it anyways…

Speaking is something I LOVE doing but every time I get up in front of people I’m so scared of saying something stupid (which is probable).  And believe it or not, I hate having a room full of eyes on me.

But I do it anyways…

And my newest adventure: writing.  I can’t tell you how many months I hummed and hawwed about writing.   I love writing but don’t feel very good at it.  I’ve had in my heart for a few years now to write a book… or two…. maybe more.  The time in my life with having a new baby just doesn’t allow; thus the blog!   Every time I put my fingers on the keyboard, inadequacy floods my heart.   What if no one reads this?  What if it doesn’t sound right? …. on and on the thoughts go.  But I do it anyways.  Why?  Because I like it.

So I continue to do it anyways…

I can’t tell you how many people I meet who have things they’ve always wanted to do but DON’T do because it freaks them out… or because they don’t feel they can do it…. or they’re scared of failure….. whatever the reason, they aren’t doing it!

If you’re a friend of mine, I can guarantee you I’ve asked you “What do you want to do?” or “What’s your passion/vision?” – something along those lines.  And you’ve either engaged me in some pretty interesting conversation,  you’ve changed the subject quickly in fear, or you’ve looked at me blank.

I ask this because everyone has things they long to do.   Everyone has passions they think of when no one’s around.   Most of the time these things scare us to death.  They’re things that we can’t imagine succeeding at.

The sad thing is that many of will keep those passions buried, never to see what could become of it.   Many will choose to play it safe than to step out and just try.   Most will make excuses of why it couldn’t happen.

Doesn’t that kill you inside??  I’d rather try and fail than not try at all.  And what’s the worst thing that can happen? ….. really?   Do you think anyone will really care as much as you about it?…. no they won’t.

There’s a verse that speaks to me strongly about this.  It’s a verse you’ve heard I’m sure  – especially if you’ve been in any charismatic circles.  But this verse is more than we think it is.  It’s not just a spiritual warfare verse.  In fact, when the real meaning comes out, it’s far from it.

God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline

2 Timothy 1:7

Ok, so if you’ve ever struggled with having the courage to step out I want you to take serious note of what these words mean in the greek (the language it was written in)

Timidity: cowardly, to shrink in fear, flee and run away from.

Power: being ABLE, capable, having great ability and strength

Love: charity, benevolent love, giving the person what they need not just want they want, because you love them

Self-discipline: sound mind

Ok, so let’s put this verse together to read what it’s actually saying based on the greek words:

God has not given you a cowardly spirit.  One that shrinks in fear, flees and runs away.  What He HAS given you is:

– The ability to be ABLE!   And the strength to do it!

– The avenue to do whatever you’re doing so it benefits others and not just yourself

– The discipline you’ll need to see it through and to have a sound mind through it all – instead of a mind that tortures you the whole time saying “it can’t be done”.  It takes self discipline to just suck it up and do it.

Ok, does that not just change your mindset completely?!  Read it again.  And again and again if you have to until it sinks into your very depth.  God is saying you have no need to fear!  Sure there’s things like timing, resources to think about, but don’t you think it’s time to try a little?

Listen to your brother James Brown and just GET UP OFFA THAT THING.

Just do it

Categories: womanly stuff
  1. January 7, 2011 at 4:10 am

    Hey Connie,

    I know this post is filed in “womanly stuff”…but it seems according to content there may be room for me to confess having read it and comment on it 🙂

    I always appreciated your honesty and transparency and am refreshed again reading your post. We rarely think of other people dealing with fear and moments lacking courage because we can be so focused on our own lives and how we measure up, but you are right…we all deal with it. In our humanity we can be assured of having to push past our own inability into God’s ability.

    Looking forward to more great reading material from your end of the province!

    Blessings!

    • January 7, 2011 at 4:16 am

      haha! LOVE IT Rennie! Glad you’ve enjoyed. And don’t worry, Reuben reads it too…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

