Home > womanly stuff > Help! I’m in the mall and I can’t get out!

Help! I’m in the mall and I can’t get out!

I’m such a consumer.  Material Girl was my favorite song when I was in Grade 4.  Yup, I started young…

I love a good sale.  Commercials entice me all the time.  Especially mascara ones!   You mean my eyelashes can look like THAT?   Out I go to buy this dream eyelash enhancer only to find that woman on the commercial was probably wearing fake lashes.  Foiled again!….

You don’t believe me?   Just ask my husband.   If you’re a good salesperson, then I’m your dream customer.   I remember going to get my eyebrows done and while doing my eyebrows the lady says to me “My you have blotchy skin”.   BLOTCHY skin?  Oh noooo!  But wait!  She has a solution for me!  She says to me; “But we have something that can fix that”.   Oh thank heaven!   They have the solution to my problem….. the problem I didn’t know I had….. the problem I didn’t exactly see in the mirror for myself this morning but if she says I have blotchy skin then I must!   What was supposed to be $18 turned out to be $180.   I left the store feeling relieved that I was on my way to better skin.   I felt great!…. until I saw my husband…. he didn’t share my happiness.

When I’ve made some purchases, I know exactly how to make my presentation to my husband too.   If he asks how much I paid I don’t tell him how much…. I tell him how much I SAVED!   “It was 25% off!”   But one thing I’ve learned from him is that even though I may have saved money, it was still money spent.  What’s the number one thing we argue about?  Money.

Ever been there?

It sickens me really.  All this wanting, wanting, wanting.  When I have something, it never is enough.  Something in me wants more.  New clothes, more shoes in more colors, another pair of silver hoops because the other 5 pairs are clearly not enough.  Better car, bigger house, dream vacation…. does it END?  That’s what marketers do: they feed off the “need” in us.   How do I know this?   I learned it in business.   People who make it in business know how to create and multiply consumerism. Knowing this, you’d think I’d be able to steer clear.  Nope.

I’m just plain selfish.

Proverbs 31 talks a lot about money and womanhood.  Out of the 22 verses dedicated to womanhood, almost half of them are about money.

She shops around for the best yarns and cottons and enjoys knitting and sewing.   She is like a trading ship that sails to faraway places and brings back exotic surprises. (31:13-14)

Ok, I don’t know about you, but I hate sewing.  (And I don’t know how I feel about being compared to a “ship” either?)  This isn’t saying we need to knit and sew, this is saying she’s wise with what she buys.

She looks over a field and buys it, then with the money she’s put aside she plants a garden. (31:16)

If this was written about me it would have said: “Connie looks over a field and buys it, then with the money she heads to the mall and SPENDS it all!”

But this woman knows how to invest.  And she does something I don’t do well: save.  And not only does she invest and save, she produces MORE with what she’s made (the garden).

First thing in the morning she dresses for work, rolls up her sleeves, eager to get started.  She senses the worth of her work and is in no hurry to call it quits for the day.  She’s skilled in the crafts of home and hearth, diligent in homemaking.  (31:18-19)

Here’s a woman who knows how to work: whether she works away from home  or at home.   She ain’t lazy.  When I used to think of a “homemaker” I thought of some cinderella-looking woman scrubbing the floors on her hands and knees.  But now that I have kids I realize that “homemaking” really means taking care of the family.  (insert sigh of relief here)

She doesn’t worry about her family when it snows; their winter clothes are all mended and ready to wear.  She makes her own clothing and dresses in colorful linens and silks….. She designs gowns and sells them, brings the sweaters she knits to the dress shops.  Her clothes are well made and elegant and she always faces tomorrow with a smile. (31:21-22, 24-25)

There you go.  Its ok to dress nice!  Its ok to have nice things!  Isn’t that great to know!  Horray for Winners!  And, this woman is creative and a bit of an entrepreneur.  She’s a planner.  She plans well for the future and makes sure her and her family are taken care of.

But the one verse that hits me the hardest is this one:

She extends her hand to the poor, And she stretches out her hands to the needy. (31:20)

 

Talk about going against the norm.   Talk about stopping selfishness right in its tracks.

You mean…. “give”?   But I have no money to help anyone else!   Seriously,  I don’t.   I mean after my daily starbucks, lunches out, new toys for the kiddies, trip to the mall for the end of season sales, new wii game, oh and a new throw pillow for the sofa….. and our 2nd vacation this year….. come to think of it I need to remember to buy ski passes for the family…..  And then there was that groupon deal I saw today……I JUST HAVE NO MONEY LEFT!

Don’t love the world’s ways. Don’t love the world’s goods. Love of the world squeezes out love for the Father. Practically everything that goes on in the world—wanting your own way, wanting everything for yourself, wanting to appear important—has nothing to do with the Father. It just isolates you from him. The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.  (2 John 2:15-17 The Message)

ouch –  that one hurt me too….

Categories: womanly stuff
  1. Maria
    January 14, 2011 at 4:44 am

    hurts me too…I tried to see these passages in another way. Women are like a river…we are creating…creating a garden, a sweater, a family, a life of brilliance – constantly flowing and changing the world around us. Maybe God’s purpose is for us to create!! A river cannot be stopped by a rock – it just creates a way to shrink it and move it. Who can understand a woman’s heart…I think it is to CREATE.

  1. August 25, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

