Home > A raving fan > Is ordinary really “ordinary”?

Is ordinary really “ordinary”?

I happen to attend the best church on the planet.   Ok we’re all biased to our church families aren’t we? ….   but really I love my church.   And what makes it so great?   The people.  Whenever there is a need, people rally around and help big time.   When Christopher was born I couldn’t believe the support!   Meals, help,  gifts, whatever support needed.  It’s amazing….

Recently I was quite touched by a friend from church who arranged a cookie exchange.   I was planning to attend but through a bout of sickness in our home was unable to attend.    She was thrilled when I told her!   What!?  Reason being is because she prays everyday for God to guide her day and to bless people through her “even if its just changing a bum (she has young kids…. she wouldn’t just make a habit of “changing bums”…)     Turns out she had felt led by God to double her recipe.   So without asking “why” she just did it.    This made it so that she put in her extra baking and blessed our family with the spoils from the cookie exchange we would have received if we had contributed.  WOW.

Just an ordinary act but did it ever bless me (and my husband by the way who’s eaten way too much by now…. there’s a lock on the cookie jar….)    It wasn’t the cookies, it was the awe that God would lead her to do that to bless me.  The fact that she thought of me…. wow.

Now if I felt that good about cookies, how do people feel when we just do what we feel is “ordinary”?   Like we heard in our service yesterday; just giving a smile, a hug, etc.   Doesn’t seem like “changing the world” but it has impact on that person and that’s powerful!   We live in an illusion if we believe that only doing big things matter.

In the past I’ve chased dreams that I believed would “change the world”….. and almost lost my family in the meantime from being gone too much.  Not just physically gone but mentally and emotionally.  I was involved with such “good things” that were taking up my heart space, pushing my family out.  Does that sound like a good thing?    And as I mentioned before, I even started to forget about God.

Small things.   Day by day things.  Mommy things.   Even dull things.  All of these bless people and when people feel blessed, they feel believed in.  And when they feel believed in, something changes inside them.  And one by one people’s lives are touched.   A picture I see is the shoeboxes for Operations Christmas Child.   When we pack our box it’s just one box.   But when we bring our “one box” and see how it adds to all the other “one box’s” all I can say is WOW!   The small has impact

So today, I’m going to pray what my friend prays.   For God to use me to bless – even if its just changing a bum, because the ordinary really isn’t just “ordinary”……

oh and thanks Wendy for the cookies 🙂

Categories: A raving fan
  1. Wendy Nilsen
    December 6, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Ah! That picture at the end of the boxes just really solidifies how one turns into a large impact! Thank you! A great visual I will carry with me for a long time!

    And Connie, as much as you share you were blessed, I was also very blessed. God being able to use this very human being is encouraging & motivating. I am learning as a parent these years are different than years past in terms of “missionalism” in our lives.

    And lady, you bless so many with your life & friendship! Hugs.

  2. December 6, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    It’s often times the simple things. When I see the church I think of family. I think in many ways we have the family we’re born into and then a spiritual family we’re born into when we come to faith in Christ. For this reason when I consider the church I consider relationship. Relationship is integral. Our relationship with our mom and dad, especially in early childhood is integral to building us up emotionally to contribute in relationship with those around us. When there is deprivation relationships can be difficult and maybe even a foreign concept to some. All the more reason as to why it is important for those of us who have been invested in relationally, and who do have relational skills to model this in our church’s to those around us. The simple things can be just simple things or as we go about doing the simple things we can think about the relational investment we’re pouring into the other.

    I’ve had issues with the church. It seems to me there’s a lot of programs but nothing really in the arena of relational investment. So, it’s another challenge to push beyond our perceived barriers to invest relationally to those in our family and church family.

  3. December 7, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I love this message! I’ve taken to sending messages or texts to people to let them know that I’m thinking of them and praying for them when they just seemingly pop into my head “randomly”. Often times, it’s not merely as random as I had thought. Significant connection. It’s what life is about.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

