Home > Why the Word is my lifeline > The heart of David

The heart of David

Reading through Psalms I can’t help but see David’s heart of abandonment and worship to God. His longing for God and His Word are especially evident in Psalm 119. Is it ever rich. There are so many action words David uses to express his desperation for God’s word to penetrate his life.

I found in my life personally that the more I long for God’s Word: to read it, study it, observe it, meditate on it, and choose to believe what it says as my value system; the more I learn about who God really is and the more my heart of worship grows.
Knowledge alone isn’t valuable in itself, but knowledge with understanding (the kind Proverbs talks about) brings a depth we can never accomplish ourselves. This depth allows us to journey deeper into the heart and truth of God. This allows us to stand firm no matter what wind or season comes to our lives.

I have had many conversations with people who confess they don’t understand what worship really looks like. They don’t understand what it means when someone says “Live a life of worship” and many don’t understand how worship looks during a music worship service. They feel awkward, strange, watching people “worship” God. “Should I be doing that?” “Does that person ‘get it’ more than I do?” – are just some of the thoughts that come to them. We all know that worship is more than outward expression, but how do we outwardly express what we feel on the inside? The more we experience God and who He is, the more we will discover our expression in worship. This is not about “feeling” God. This is about learning about Him and responding.

I find its helpful to think of the Bible as God’s love letter to me. He took many years to write us this beautiful letter. In this letter He tells us all we need to know about Him. And the more we read this letter, the more we will discover Him and the outflow of our hearts and lives will follow. Think about the first time your love wrote you a meaningful letter or note. Did you have to “think” about how to respond? Not really, you just did. Same thing happens when we read His letter to us.

There’s a song many are familiar with called “The Heart of Worship” by Matt Redman. Some of the lyrics say “I’m coming back to a heart of worship and it’s all about You…..” but if we don’t know “all about Him”, by knowing His Word (which is what tells us all about Him) then its really still all about us.

Take away for today: Find a time to get into His Letter to you. Just like we make time for a morning coffee or other daily ritual, lets get the Word into our daily ritual. Steer clear of legalistic thinking that feeds the idea it needs to be in long increments of time. Whatever you can fit in works!

119:20 – My soul is crushed with longing after Your ordinances (His Word) all the time…..

  1. carolyn neary
    November 30, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Nice blog Connie….keep them coming.

  2. November 30, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    I think you hit it on the head with the whole love letter thing. I think we over think our spirituality so much. In other places in the world, where they don’t “know” as much, they just worship out of an outflow of their love and gratitude. I don’t think that they think about it so much. It isn’t an industry over there. It is great to have tools to help us, but sometimes I think it has all become too much, and complicates things more than it helps.

  3. Belinda
    December 2, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    This is my 1st ever ever ever post on a blog!!!

    I too long to be a deeper worshiper of God……and it is in allowing him into every minute of my day I think this will develop… and by ruminating on His Word. I was just reading in James about “looking intently” into His Word. I remember asking God once to give me a love for His Word. Boy did he ever jump all over that one! I wonder why it took me so long to realize that looking intently did not mean rushing through His Word at 100 mph? It’s at those looking intently times that I realize I want more and more of Him. There is always a new nugget of truth even in a very familiar passage.

    Here endeth my first blog post. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

